Building one from scratch?

All things oily!
techbod
Site Admin

Building one from scratch?

Post by techbod »

An XI replica that is.

But not a Westfield kit, a scratch built one, although it might contain a bit of Westfield.

I've been mulling it over for at least a couple of years and I go on and off the idea as my heart rules my head and vice versa.

In theory there is no reason why not of course - its certainly been done before: http://lotuseleven.org/Rescue&Resto/Ken'sEleven.htm. From what I can glean about that build it is an accurate replica and was 'signed of by the historic Lotus register'. That is way over and above what I would want to achieve.

I'm thinking more along the lines of Ron Champion's approach to building a 7 replica. The big difference for an XI would be the body - its compound curves make it much more difficult than the 7 to fabricate. The obvious option might be to try and buy the front and rear clams from Westfield - I don't know if they sell them as separate items, or take a deep breath and learn the art of aluminium fabrication. This may well be a rather large hurdle, so glossing over it for now...

I have been offered an unwanted Westfield chassis buy a well meaning mate, but it is unfortunately from a 7 kit not a XI. It of course could be modified to be suitable, but it may require so many modifications that it is probably simpler to make one from scratch.